Skip to main content

Environmental and Occupational Health: E-databases

Quick Guide to Use of TOXNET: Toxicology & Environmental Information Resource

TOXNET (TOXicology Data NETwork) is a cluster of databases covering toxicology, hazardous chemicals, environmental health and related areas. The databases are managed by the Toxicology and Environmental Health Information Program (TEHIP) in the division of the Specialized Information Services of the National Libraries of Medicine (NLM).

How do I use TOXNET?
Check out the TOXNET Workbook created by the NLM. The workbook walks one through how to use the toxicology and environmental health databases of TOXNET. 

The toxicology databases reviewed include:

Hazardous Substances Data Bank (HSDB) - a fully referenced and peer-reviewed database of factual information about over 5,000 hazardous chemicals including information on emergency handling procedures, industrial hygiene, environmental fate, human exposure, detection methods, and regulatory requirements.
Integrated Risk Information System (IRIS) - scientifically-reviewed database of the EPA containing carcinogenic and non-carcinogenic health risk information on over 500 chemicals.
International Toxicity Estimates for Risk (ITER) - provides a comparison of international risk assessment information in a side-by-side format for over 650 chemical records.
Chemical Carcinogenesis Research Information System (CCRIS) - a fully-referenced and scientifically evaluated site maintained by the National Cancer Institute that contains over 9,000 chemical records with carcinogenicity, mutagenicity, tumor promotion, and tumor inhibition test results.
Genetic Toxicology (GENE-TOX) - a scientifically evaluated database that contains genetic toxicology test results on over 3,200 chemicals.
Household Products Database - provides information on the potential health effects of chemicals contained in more than 8,000 common household products used inside and around the home.
Haz-Map - database links jobs and hazardous tasks with occupational diseases and their symptoms. The 1,595 chemicals and biological agents in the database are related to industrial processes and other activities such as hobbies.
TOX-MAP - based on the EPA's Toxic Release Inventory, this database uses maps of the United States to show the amount and location of toxic chemicals released into the environment.
Lact-Med - a database of drugs and other chemicals to which breastfeeding mothers may be exposed.
Carcinogenic Potency Database (CPD) - provides standardized analyses of the results of 6540 chronic, long-term animal cancer tests that have been conducted since the 1950's and reported in the general published literature.
ChemId Plus - a database providing access to structure and nomenclature authority databases used for the identification of chemical substances cited in NLM databases.
Toxics Release Inventory (TRI) - A series of databases that describe the releases of toxic chemicals into the environment annually for the 1987-2007 reporting years.
Development and Reproductive Toxicology/Environmental Teratology Information Center (DART/ETIC) - A bibliographic database covering literature on reproductive and developmental toxicology.
TOXLINE - bibliographic database providing comprehensive coverage of the biochemical, pharmacological, physiological, and toxicological effects of drugs and other chemicals from 1965 to the present.

 

Search these databases to find scholarly articles on your topic

The Himmelfarb Health Sciences Library
Questions? Ask us.
Creative Commons License
All LibGuides by Himmelfarb Health Sciences Library are licensed under a
Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs 3.0 Unported License.

The George Washington University