Skip to main content

Faculty Webpage: Using Himmelfarb's Resources

Himmelfarb Health Sciences Library

Web: http://himmelfarb.gwu.edu

Email: himmelfarb@gwu.edu

Ask Us: http://himmelfarb.gwu.edu/ask/

Reference Desk: (202) 994-2850

Circulation Desk: (202) 994-2962 (open 24 hours)

Text:  text your question to (202) 601-3525

Hours: 24/7.  Please note:  limited circulation functions between midnight and 8:00 am; hours modified during university breaks and holidays.

Holdings:

Remote Access

From GW Hospital and off-campus locations, residents can login to resources using their GW NetID/password (same login for @gwu.edu email)

  1. Access the Himmelfarb Library website then select the database, e-text, or e- journal which you would like to access.
  2. When The George Washington University Single Sign-on webpage is displayed, securely login with your GW NetID and password (i.e. the same login/password used for your GW Email and Blackboard.)
  3. The database, e-text, or e-journal that you selected should display automatically.

 

Himmelfarb Library @ GW Hospital

  • GW Hospital is on a separate network from the Library and Ross Hall.
  • The Library’s website automatically detects users at the GW Hospital and displays resources via two tabs
    • Hospital Resources – no login required to access more selective set of clinical resources;  includes ClinicalKey, DynaMed, Lexicomp, and selected e-journals.
    • All Resources – login with your GW Net ID/password to access all e-journals, e-texts and databases.

Wireless

Wireless access to the GW computer network is available from Himmelfarb Library, Ross Hall Room 201, and from other areas on campus. Wireless access is available to GWU students, faculty, and staff only.

Instructions for connecting to GWireless

  1. Connect to the GWireless network from your device's list of available networks.
  2. When prompted, provide your GW NetID and password.
  3. After a Certificate screen displays, select Accept.

Note: Devices Running on Windows 7 Operating System may require additional measures: If you are a Windows 7 user and have difficulty connecting, select the GWconnect wireless network, and launch your web browser. On the GWconnect web page, select "connect to GWireless". and on the subsequent page, click on "Windows 7 users click here" link to install the necessary profile. If required this will only be necessary the first time you set up each device.

Clinical Information Resources

Full-Text links

 

  • Access to full-text journal articles; integrated in all research databases and also available on Google Scholar

  • Access Documents2Go interlibrary loan/document delivery and additional full-text options; integrated in all research databases and also available on Google Scholar

The Himmelfarb Health Sciences Library
Questions? Ask us.
Creative Commons License
All LibGuides by Himmelfarb Health Sciences Library are licensed under a
Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs 3.0 Unported License.

The George Washington University