Research Guide for the Department of Health Policy
Last Updated: Jun 17, 2013
Health Policy Reference Center
Health policy information including access and delivery,
administration, financing and economics, planning, quality, reform,
health services research, and public health. Provides access to journals,
books, magazines, and trade publications with emphasis of full-text.
Coverage: dates vary by publication; emphasis on current dates.
Produced by EBSCOhost.
RefWorks is an online service used to create a personal database of
bibliographic citations by importing the citations from other online
databases. Citations may be automatically formatted for bibliography
and footnotes and may be searched within your personal database.
Start searching health information @ Himmelfarb.
- Academic Search Premier
Multi-disciplinary database with emphasis on scholarly publications and peer-reviewed journals. Full-text available for many titles.
- CQ HealthBeat
Continuously updated information on health policy legislation and regulations. Includes real-time news, information on rules and regulations, legislative tracking, and schedules of forums and events.
Full-text of newspapers and business information.
(Formerly GPO Access) Index to United States federal government publications that includes references to books, reports, studies, serials, maps, and other publications. Full-text links to many electronic publications; citations/abstracts to print publications.
- Health Policy Reference Center
Health policy information including access and delivery, administration, financing and economics, planning, quality, reform, health services research, and public health. Provides access to journals, books, magazines, and trade publications with emphasis of full-text. Coverage: dates vary by publication; emphasis on current dates. Produced by EBSCOhost.
- Health Services Research
Information about ongoing health services research and public health projects. Search by investigator, funding agency, or by keyword.
- Kaiser Family Foundation
- LEXIS-NEXIS Academic Universe
News, business, legal, and medical news/journals provided primarily in full-text.
- NYAM Grey Literature Report
New York Academy of Medicine Grey Literature Report.
Political, social, and public policy database. Includes journal articles and information about websites, publications, and organizations. Coverage: 1972 - Present.
Public policy research and analysis from think tanks, university research programs, research organizations, and publishers. Selected full-text links.
- Private Sector Health Policy Toolkit
From the World Bank. 4 modules:
4. Capacity Development
- Proquest Congressional
(Formerly LexisNexis Congressional.) A comprehensive source of Congressional information including Conressional Research Service Reports, bills, hearings, testimonies, legislative histories.
Web version of the MEDLINE database index of the medical journal literature. This GWU-specific link is different from the publicly accessible version, because most records should display a a full text link where the Himmelfarb Library has a subscription to that journal. For this reason readers are advised to click the link on this page (or from the Himmelfarb Library website) and DO NOT JUST GOOGLE PUBMED.
- Robert Woods Johnson Foundation
Sort the list of articles you bring up in your results by the number of times they have been cited in other scientific papers! A useful quality filter for finding "highly cited" papers that match your keywords.
Legislative information including the texts of bills and resolutions, bill summaries and status, voting results including how individual members voted, the Congressional Record, Presidential nominations, & Treaties. Maintained by the Library of Congress
- Mobile search Health Policy databases
To install the EBSCOhost mobile app, click the Health Policy Reference Center link above. Scroll to the bottom of the page and click on the link titled 'EBSCOhost iPhone and Android Applications'. Databases that can be searched using the EBSCOhost mobile app include Health Policy Reference Center, Academic Search Premier, MEDLINE, etc.