Mobile Applications/Downloads
- AFP By Topic: Editors’ Choice
Continually updated, selected content from American Family Phyician includes pertinent AFP articles and departments, summaries of practice guidelines from major medical organizations, patient education handouts, articles from Family Practice Management, and American Academy of Family Physicians’ Metric practice improvement modules. - Diagnosaurus
Differential diagnosis tool allows users to navigate by diagnosis, symptom, or organ system.
Access: Download is available for free or minimal fee (.99 for Apple and Android Users). - DynaMed
Point-of-care information resource includes drug and disease information.
Access: Institutional subscription paid for by Himmelfarb Library
Send email to library@gwumc.edu to request serial number for mobile download then consult download instructions. - EBSCOhost Online Research Databases
Access to EBSCOhost databases including CINAHL, Health Policy Reference Center, SPORTDiscus and more. Access citations and abstracts, plus selected full-text articles.
Access: Institutional subscription paid for by Himmelfarb Library
To install, access CINAHL, SPORTDiscus, or Health Policy Reference Center from Library webpage. Scroll to the bottom of the database search page and click on link for 'EBSCOhost iPhone/iPod Touch Application'. - Epocrates Rx
Drug guide that provides access to drug monographs, health plan formularies, drug interaction checker, calculators,
pill ID and pill pictures (not available on Palm, WinMobile and Win Smartphone), and brand name OTC drug products.
Access: Free - Eponyms (student version)
Tool that provides short descriptions of thousands of common and obscure eponyms.
Access: Free - ePSS
Tool developed by the Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ) to assist primary care clinicians to identify the screening, counseling, and preventive medication services that are appropriate for their patients. Based on current recommendations of the U.S. Preventive Services Task Force (USPSTF).
Access: Free - FirstConsult Mobile
Point-of-care information resource includes disease/condition information.
Access: Institutional subscription paid for by Himmelfarb Library
To install, access FirstConsult from desktop computer and create personal login/password (note: if you already have a personal MDConsult login/password, you can use that account information), then download application on iPhone and login. - GW Mobile
Course listings, campus maps, news, sports, social media feeds, alerts, and more. - Medical Spanish
App provides review of system questions, medical and social history questions and vocabulary words, physical exam instructions and common phrases and expressions in Spanish.
Access: Purchase from iTunes Store - Medscape: WebMD
Drug reference that includes a drug interaction checker, medical news across 30 specialties, multimedia images and video, and access to continuing medication education activities.
Access: Free - Mobile MerckMedicus
Downloads available for The Merck Manual, Professional Edition, Harrison's Practice - Answers on Demand, and the Pocket Guide to Diagnostic Tests (5th ed.).
Access: Free - Natural Standard
High quality, evidence-based information on dietary supplements, functional foods, diets, complementary practices, exercises, and medical conditions.
Access: Institutional subscription paid for by Himmelfarb Library
Use linked webpage to request serial number; note that you must register with GW email address. You will receive instructions for accessing or creating a Skyscape account and will then receive your serial number via email. - NCBI Bookshelf
Selected texts from the NCBI Bookshelf can be freely downloaded. Titles include Clinical Methods, Genes and Disease, and Medical Microbiology.
Access: Free - Pediatric Care Online Mobile
Full-text clinical information from Pediatric Care Online produced by the American Academy of Pediatrics.
Access: Institutional subscription paid for by Himmelfarb Library
To install, access resource then create ' New Customer Registration' and make a note of your AAP number. Then, click on 'Mobile' and activate your account using your AAP number and password. You will then be provided instructions for installing Pediatric Care Online Mobile to your specific phone or device. - PubMed on Tap
Searches PubMed and permits linking to articles in Himmelfarb Library's full-text collection. For full-text linking, access app's Settings menu, set 'Check for Full Text' to 'On', and set 'Library Proxy' to: http://proxygw.wrlc.org/login?url=%@
Access: Fee (PubMed on Tap) and Free (PubMed on Tap Lite) - Radiation Emergency Medical Management
Selected, key files from the online, full version of REMM including management algorithms, dose estimator, triage information for adults and children, isotopes of interest, countermeasures, and emergency contacts.
Access: Free - Shots 2010
Contains childhood, adolescent, catch-up, and adult 2010 immunization schedules and references.
Access: Free - WISER
WISER (Wireless Information System for Emergency Responders) is a mobile application designed to assist first responders in hazardous material incidents.
Access: Free - Lexi-Comp
Comprehensive clinical drug information app includes Lexi-Drugs and Lexi-Interact.
Access: Institutional subscription paid for by Himmelfarb Library
To install, access resource then locate link on right-hand menu for 'Mobile App Access'; select your mobile platform (e.g. iPhone, Android, etc.) and you will obtain a product code and installation instructions.
Comments (0)
Mobile-Optimized Websites
- AccessMedicine Mobile
Full-text clinical and basic sciences textbook collection that includes Harrison's Online, Tintinalli's Emergency Medicine, Current Medical Diagnosis and Treatment, Hurst's The Heart, Goodman & Gilman's The Pharmacological Basis of Therapeutics, and the Lange educational library series.
SmartPhone/PDA/Handheld: To access, access AccessMedicine from desktop computer and create a 'My AccessMedicine' login/password which can be used to login to AccessMedicine Mobile on your handheld device.
Access: Institutional subscription paid for by Himmelfarb Library - CINAHL Mobile
Authoritative coverage of nursing and allied health literature. Coverage: 1981 - Present. Produced by Ebsco Publishing.
Access: Institutional subscription paid for by Himmelfarb Library - Essential Evidence Plus Mobile
Concise, point-of-care information summaries for more than 700 common diseases, conditions, and procedures. Also includes 3,000 calculators and tools, Cochrane abstracts, 3,000 archived POEMs, etc.
To access mobile website, create a personal account by accessing resource from your desktop computer, then access www.essentialevidenceplus.com from your mobile device and login with your personal login/password.
Access: Institutional subscription paid for by Himmelfarb Library - Health Policy Reference Center Mobile
Health policy information including access and delivery, administration, financing and economics, planning, quality, reform, health services research, and public health. Provides access to journals, books, magazines, and trade publications with emphasis on full-text. Coverage: dates vary by publication; emphasis on current dates. Produced by EBSCOhost.
Access: Institutional subscription paid for by Himmelfarb Library - MDConsult Mobile
Mobile-optimized version of MDConsult provides access to full-text textbooks, journal articles, clinics, practice guidelines, and images. To read, access MDConsult from desktop computer and create personal MDConsult login/password which can be used to login to MDConsult mobile.
Access: Institutional subscription paid for by Himmelfarb Library - Medical LetterAccess the latest issues of The Medical Letter and Treatment Guidelines; browse past issue via disease and drug indices. To install: access Himmelfarb Library's Medical Letter subscription, then register for mobile access; download app and login.
Access: Institutional subscription paid for by Himmelfarb Library - MedlinePlus Mobile
A consumer health site developed by the National Library of Medicine with links to health topics, prescription and over-the-counter drug information, a dictionary of medical words, and current health news.
Access: Free - PsychiatryOnline Mobile
Full-text access to the DSM-IV-TR, APA textbooks and journals, guidelines, and patient education materials. Content sections can be downloaded to a PDA; create a 'My PsychiatryOnline' account to use 'PDA Download' function.
To access mobile website, create a personal account by accessing PsychiatryOnline from your desktop computer, then access PsychiatryOnline Mobile (www.psychiatryonline.com) from your mobile device and login with your personal login/password.
Access: Institutional subscription paid for by Himmelfarb Library - PubGet Mobile
Searches PubMed content and provides immediate access to available PDFs.
Access: Free - PubMed for Handhelds
Search PubMed via a mobile-optimized website. PICO search available.
Access: Free - RefWorks Mobile
RefMobile can be accessed using your login and Group Code. To obtain the Group Code log into the following web page via ALADIN:
http://www.aladin.wrlc.org/Z-WEB/Aladin?req=dbr&key=WRL06788GW
Access: Institutional subscription paid for by Himmelfarb Library - Research Guides
Guides to Himmelfarb Library's resources tailored to meet the needs of specific departments and/or courses. - Shots 2010
Contains childhood, adolescent, catch-up, and adult 2010 immunization schedules and references.
Access: Free - SPORTDiscus Mobile
Sport database covering recreation, exercise physiology, sports medicine, coaching, physical fitness, the psychology, history and sociology of sport, training, and conditioning. Includes journal articles and books. Produced by the Sport Information Resource Centre.
Access: Institutional subscription paid for by Himmelfarb Library - TOXNET Mobile
Toxicology and hazardous chemicals databases including HSDB, IRIS, ITER, GENE-TOX, CCRIS, TOXLINE, DART/ETIC, TRI, and ChemIDPlus. Sponsored by the National Library of Medicine, through the Toxicology and Environmental Health Information Program of its Specialized Information Services Division.
Access: Free
Subject Guide |
Contact Info Himmelfarb Health Sciences Library The George Washington University 2300 I Street, N.W. Washington, DC 20037 Phone: 202-994-8570 Fax: 202-994-4343 Send Email |



Submit
Loading...
