This is the "Medicine" page of the "MS3 Clerkships: Information Resources 2011-12" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

MS3 Clerkships: Information Resources 2011-12  

Information resources for clinical clerkships for 3rd year medical students.
Last Updated: Feb 14, 2012 URL: http://libguides.gwumc.edu/ms3clerkships Print Guide RSS UpdatesShareThis

Medicine Print Page
  Search: 
 

Best Bets

DynaMed

Evidence-based, regularly updated topic reviews.

Access Online

 

Integrated access provides evidence-based clinical information database with differential diagnosis, medical conditions, procedures, and patient education, as well as clinical knowledge system with electronic textbooks, journal articles, practice guidelines, and drug information.

Access Online

 

All Clinical/EBM Databases

Research Articles

  • MEDLINE
    Includes links to Himmelfarb's full-text journals. To focus search for EBM articles:
    -Limit to English and recent years
    -Limit by age group if applicable for topic
    -Limit by publication type:
    - Controlled Clinical Trial
    - Meta Analysis
    - Multicenter Study
    - Randomized Controlled Trial
    - Practice Guideline
  • PubMed
    Includes links to Himmelfarb's full-text journals and the Himmelfarb Library's EBM filters:
    - EBM/Clinical Reviews - displays systematic reviews, practice guidelines, and meta-analyses written in English.
    - EBM/Clinical Trials - displays controlled clinical trials, multicenter studies, and randomized controlled trials written in English.
    - Reviews - displays review articles written in English.
 

Key Textbooks

Click on book title to access full-text.

Additional electronic textbooks in medicine available on E-Texts webpage.

Cover Art
Cecil Medicine - Cecil, Russell L.
Call Number: RC46 .C423 2008
ISBN: 1416028056
Himmelfarb availability: print and online.

Cover Art
Ferri's Clinical Advisor 2012 - Ferri, Fred F.
Call Number: RC55 .F375 2012
ISBN: 0323056113
Himmelfarb availability: online.

Cover Art
Harrison's Principles of Internal Medicine - Fauci, Anthony S.
Call Number: RC46 .H333 2008
ISBN: 0071466339
Himmelfarb availability: print and online

Cover Art
Internal Medicine Essentials for Clerkship Students 2 - Alguire, Patrick C.
Call Number: RC55 .I61 2009
ISBN: 1934465135
Himmelfarb availability: print & online
Recommended by clerkship director.

Cover Art
MKSAP For Students 4 - American College of Physicians
Call Number: RC59 .M425 2008
ISBN: 9781934465035
Himmelfarb availability: print.
Recommended by clerkship director.

 

Mobile/Handheld

DynaMed

  • Application/download
  • Point-of-care information resource includes drug and disease information 
  • Send email to library@gwumc.edu to request serial number for mobile download
  • Operating systems: iOS (Apple), BlackBerry, Android Smartphones, Windows Smartphone, Palm, Pocket PC
  • Download Instructions

 

MDConsult Mobile

  • Mobile website
  • Access to MDConsult textbooks, journal articles, clinics, guidelines and images on mobile-optimized website
  • To access, create a personal MDConsult account by accessing MDConsult from your desktop computer.  You can then access MDConsult Mobile from your mobile device and login with your personal MDConsult login/password

 

Additional Mobile/Handheld Resources

      

    Subject Guide

    Profile Image
    Laura Abate
    Contact Info
    Himmelfarb Health Sciences Library
    The George Washington University
    2300 I Street, N.W.
    Washington, DC 20037
    Phone: 202-994-8570
    Fax: 202-994-4343
    Send Email
     
    Description

    Loading  Loading...

    Tip