Skip to main content

PubMed @ Himmelfarb: Home

Search Himmelfarb Library's customized PubMed interface to locate clinical and evidence-based information and review articles and link to the library's full-text journal collections.

Access PubMed @ Himmelfarb

PubMed @ Himmelfarb

PubMed @ Himmelfarb provides a simple method for sorting different types of articles and evidence and provides links to articles in Himmelfarb Library's full-text collection. PubMed @ Himmelfarb filters automatically group articles into categories based on their methodology and apply an English language limit.  

The categories appear on the right sidebar after you execute a PubMed search: 

  • Practice Guidelines
  • Systematic Reviews
  • Randomized Controlled Trials
  • Cohort & Case-Control
  • Background/Reviews

NOTE: In order to use PubMed @ Himmelfarb filters and see Full-Text It @ Himmelfarb links, you must access PubMed via the custom link to PubMed available on this page and on the Himmelfarb homepage . 

If you have questions about PubMed @ Himmelfarb, please confact Laura Abate (leabate@gwu.edu).  

Questions & Answers

How is PubMed @ Himmelfarb different from that available at www.pubmed.gov?

PubMed @ Himmelfarb provides links to Himmelfarb Library's full-text journals and a simple method for sorting different types of articles and evidence. We recognize that finding high-quality information for clinical decisions and education can be time-consuming due to the quantity of information available. The goal of these PubMed filters is to reduce your searching time in order to allow more time for you to read and analyze available information.  

What is different about PubMed @ Himmelfarb?

PubMed @ Himmelfarb integrates full-text links at the article level:

  • Full-Text @ Himmelfarb links indicate that Himmelfarb Library has a copy of the article for you.  To access the full-text article, click on the Full-Text @ Himmelfarb button/link.  
  • Find It @ Himmelfarb links indicate that Himmelfarb Library likely does not have a full-text article.  Click on this link to check the holdings at Gelman Library or to order a full-text copy via Himmefarb Library's Documents@Go delivery service.

PubMed @ Himmelfarb sorts articles into five groups which are listed under five links on the right-hand side of the search results area. The five groups are:

  • Practice Guidelines
  • Systematic Reviews
  • Randomized Controlled Trials
  • Cohort & Case-Control
  • Background/Reviews

How were the results' groupings selected?

The groupings reflect Himmelfarb Library's instruction in searching PubMed for clinical information as well as the Evidence-Based Medicine curriculum in the School of Medicine & Health Sciences.  To support the identification, analysis, and use of different types of journal articles, the filters are designed to help users find different article and study types quickly.  

I already set my own preferences using 'My NCBI'. How will this affect those settings?

If you have set up preferences using 'My NCBI', you will continue to see your personal preferences. If you would like to use PubMed @ Himmelfarb, then simply sign out of your My NCBI account and access PubMed @ Himmelfarb OR add Himmelfarb Library's PubMed filters to your personal account as custom filters.

I would like to add Himmelfarb's filters to my 'My NCBI' account.  Can I do this? 

Yes.  You can choose standard filters in My NCBI which are highly similar to those in PubMed @ Himmelfarb; we recommend the Systematic Reviews and Review filters.  If you would like to set up identical filters, select 'Create custom filter' and use these strategies.

Tutorials

Your Feedback

We would like your feedback!

Please submit comments to Laura Abate at 202-994-8570 or leabate@gwu.edu

The Himmelfarb Health Sciences Library
Questions? Ask us.
Creative Commons License
All LibGuides by Himmelfarb Health Sciences Library are licensed under a
Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs 3.0 Unported License.

The George Washington University